BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND TWITTER BACKGROUNDS »

Friday, June 19, 2009

Wedding Shopping

And we are off! We made a date when we could get together with our wedding coordinator and our sweet friend who is helping us with decorations to go shopping. We began at IHop, stopped by Men's Warehouse to get a color sample and ran to Hobby Lobby. Little did we know that they were closing 15 minutes after we walked in....so talk about power shopping. In 15 minutes, we grabbed glassware, tulle, ribbon, flowers, flower girl baskets, ring bearer pillow, and guest book. REALLY! Everything was 50% off so were quite thrilled.
Next stop...Michael's. We browsed around a bit just looking. We got a few things there, but nothing remarkable.
Earlier that evening Kat and I had done some internet window shopping to make decisions, check prices...that kind of thing, so we were armed with a list and prices so we would know what our best options were. That night we ordered some of her table favors too, but the week didn't stop there. Next on the list, get sample inviations so she could decide on that, secure the florist and reserve chairs. All of which we did and more this week! All was going according to plan...as we are now down to about two months....and then a gliche...major gliche...I called my hubbie Tuesday afternoon after talking with Kat about the situation-I was just livid. My hubbie is my sounding board and my voice of reason. The next two days were spent dealing with that situation.
Here we were feeling pretty good about what we had accomplished, all with no real stress. Kat made up her mind quickly, we got it done-NO bridezilla here at all....no stress to speak of....and that is the what we were shooting for...then...unexpectedly...a serious bump in the road. My hubbie said, "I knew it was going too smoothly." Yep....it was.
But...God has been richly providing for us and her. I am so thankful for the people in our lives that have graciously stepped up to help us in more ways than I could have imagined. It is awesome...so knowing that...I KNOW that He will provide for this new situation too!

Friday, June 12, 2009

A New Baby

Have you ever noticed that older people have pets??? Is that to minimize the empty nest syndrome!? My in-laws have a cockatil they have had now for about 14 years. That little bird is about the only thing they agree on, and let me tell you, Sunny rules the roost over there. If Sunny wants to eat, it is time to eat. If Sunny wants to take a nap, it is time to take a nap! LOL...cute, cute, cute...but knowing is half the battle and they do know they have spoiled that bird!

I have a few pets of my own. The latest edition is Sooner. We tend to be adopt by happenstance kind of people. Well, my hubbie would say, "Speak for yourself!" He would be ok without any pets-so he says (I really don't believe him!). Right before we were going to be making our trek to my mother-in-laws for her surgery, we acquired Sooner.

It was a Saturday morning, and we were heading to the golf course to finalize some wedding plans. This kitten was just a screaming next door. I was confused because they didn't have a cat. My hubbie hurried me along to our appointment. We got back and the kitty was still there, still hollering. I called it over to me. He came dragging his back legs. I picked him up and brought him in the house to feed him. I thought he had a broken leg. We kept him all day and then checked with the neighbor. Turns out the neighbor daughter found him and brought him home, to "help" him, by dumping him in the back yard without any food or anything. He was ours from that point.

I took him to the vet the next week to get his shots, to check out the leg, and deal with the fleas. We headed to Dallas leaving him in the care of my brother who promptly spoiled him and tried to steal him! No way, little brother...my baby! :) He is so little and so cute.

It has been a few weeks now. He is doing well with the litter box, but has to sleep in a kennel. We tried him in bed with us, but he kept us up, and had a few accidents. Kennel-much better idea. He fusses for a minute and goes to sleep, and we are all happy. He wakes up raring to go and full of vinegar. He is now attempting to climb curtains...and that is a NO NO! (declawing might be in his future)

Now I have a new responsibility...oh....and his name....we were on our way to Dallas and trying to decide on a name. Everyone was making suggestions. Well, I wanted an adverb name so was racking my brain to come up with a good adverb. Kat was throwing things out there, and since Jon is always on her mind, was thinking of what Jon would like...he is an OU fan which brought us to Sooner. It stuck and now he is Sooner...love it..."Come here Sooner" "Stop that Sooner." "You need to lay down Sooner."

One more thing...not a rat in sight. He runs around climbing up in the walls that don't have baseboards...is all over the place, leaving his scent. Ha...take that you wascally wats!